My Bali Exploration, Nature Specials

Road Trip to Unspoilt Beauty in the North Shore of Bali

“People don’t take trips, trips take people.” – John Steinbeck

screen-shot-2016-09-23-at-12-40-48-am

It has been almost four years I live on this magnificent island and it’s actually the first time I’ve gone to Lovina, North Bali. The idea just randomly came into my mind during Galungan & Kuningan celebration holiday as I think I’ve been to most of the places & most of the attraction spots on this island except Lovina beach.

Lovina beach is well known for its dolphin attraction. It’s located in the north Bali and it’s a very quite area. Unlike Seminyak, Legian, Kuta, Ubud or Uluwatu and so on which offer many entertainments for the visitors these days. In Lovina, most of the people come for a visit to see the dolphin attraction in the morning. Besides that, only couple of restaurants, traditional markets and accommodations. We decided to stay there for one night to experience the area apart from the dolphin attraction itself.

Usually, tourists will get into the boat, go to the middle of the ocean and watch some groups of dolphins swimming and jumping freely in the morning. Lovina took us about more less 3h by a car from Seminyak area. Since at that time we planned to do a road trip and took the trip more enjoyable by having brunch at Ubud first, that’s why the journey took longer with the different/ further route.

img_3515

It doesn’t matter where you are going, it’s who you have beside you. That’s absolutely true. I have my mum & one of my good friends, Beverly, with me 🙂 Best travel companion ever!

We went to Karsa Cafe for the brunch. It’s a lovely cafe set by the rice field with soothing ambiance at Campuhan Ridge Walk – Ubud which offers various Indonesian and Western dishes.

I am actually so thankful to technology these days, especially to Waze, the navigation app on my phone that I depend on wherever I travel far and it has always been taking me to the right direction with some interesting uncommon shortcut at times.

With zero idea about the road and where Waze leads us to the fastest & closest distance to Lovina from Ubud, we’ve pretty much witnessed plenty of interesting things along the way. Yes, we were amazed and enjoyed it!

There are so many soothing greeny fruits plantations along the way with the street which mostly decorated by penjor – The tall & curved bamboo pole decorated with coconut leaves with an offering at the base. It is one of the media used by Hindus in Bali as part of almost every important ceremony like that time, Galungan celebration.

 

“Our happiest moments as tourists always seem to come when we stumble upon one thing while in pursuit of something else.” — Lawrence Block

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lawrence Block is actually right. We stumbled upon this Kintamani volcano view from a far in the middle of the way. We stopped by for some times and enjoyed the moment here. We were actually glad to have gone to Ubud first eventho the road took longer at the end. If we didn’t come from Ubud, we wouldn’t have witnessed this majestic view!

This volcano referred to as Kintamani volcano or Mount Batur as a whole, a popular sightseeing destination in Bali’s central highlands. The magnificent views of the 13sqm Batur caldera lake is the main attraction (1,500 above sea level) and it is surrounded by the captivating Mount Batur range. Very interesting spot to visit!

Allright, continue to our main destination, Lovina! It took us around 1.5hours from where we stood before. Once we reached Lovina, I did the massage *felt like heaven!*, booked our trip to see the dolphin in the morning (it’s IDR 100,000 nett/person for the boat and our captain). The boat is very small. It only fits for 4-5 people maximum.

img_3544

I & Beverly doing massage by the pool

We departed at 6am in the morning from the beach and we were pretty amazed with north Bali view. Very stunning! It was also because I’ve been seeing sunsets most of the time, so this time I’ve got the chance to witness the sunrise after a long time (I guess last time was during my trekking activity in Candidasa two years ago, oh well) so it’s kinda special.

img_3568

Sunrise!

screen-shot-2016-09-23-at-2-59-48-am

The dolphins!

Processed with Snapseed.

Boats, saltwater & sunshine!

Processed with Snapseed.

“Smell the sea, feel the sky, let your soul and spirit fly.” -Van Morrison

img_3571

Me & mum. She’s always been afraid of the ocean but I was acting like I’ve forgotten about it 😀 So I am pretty happy that she has actually nailed it! Yay!!

Despite the fact that I was glad and amazed to see the dolphins, I was actually kinda sad too. I feel bad to the dolphins that they might feel insecure when some boats come closer by the time they appear to the surface. I do really hope that the dolphins will keep staying at the same spots next time I come again for the second visit.

If you are a nature enthusiast and need some different experiences whilst in Bali – apart from night outs, Michelin stars culinary experiences & entertainments, I think you should take some days to visit places like these. It’s worth it!

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

